FAS | Intelligence | World Agencies | Para-States ||||| Index | Search |

Maoist Communist Centre (MCC)
Maoist Coordination Committee (MCC)

In India today there are many Maoist parties and organizations that either predate the Communist Party of India (Marxist-Leninist) or emerged from factions when the CPI-ML split after the death of Charu Majumdar. Three of them, the CPI-ML (People's War), CPI-ML (Party Unity), and the Maoist Communist Center (MCC), are currently engaged in armed struggle.

Extremist organisations in Andhra Pradesh, Madhya Pradesh, Bihar, Maharashtra and even Orissa have for long killed people after branding them as "class enemy." Of late, such violence has been rising in some areas. In Bihar the Maoist Coordination Committee is notorious for its macabre killings. In Andhra Pradesh and Bihar, the People's War Group (PWG) have killed rival Maoist Coordination Committee activists.

The Maoist Communist Centre (MCC) dates from the 25 May 1967 peasant uprising at Naxalbari in Darjeeling district of West Bengal, under the leadership of revolutionary communists belonging to the Communist Party of India - Marxist [CPI(M)]. The uprising was brutally suppressed by the CPI(M)-led United Front government of West Bengal at the behest of the Congress government at the Center. In reaction, communist revolutionary ranks rebel against the leadership of the party. The rebellion soon assumes an all India dimension. Entire state units of CPI(M) in Uttar Pradesh and Jammu and Kashmir and considerable sections in Bihar and Andhra Pradesh joined this rebellion. On 22 April 1969 they formed the Communist Party of India (Marxist-Leninist). However, the Maoist Communist Centre chooses to stay away from the CPI(ML).

Sources and Resources

FAS | Intelligence | World Agencies | Para-States ||||| Index | Search |

Created by John Pike
Maintained by Webmaster

Updated Sunday, May 14, 2000 5:52:38 PM