FAS | Intelligence | NSA |||| Join FAS

FAS Project on Intelligence Reform

Note (2003): Portions of the Rainbow Series (e.g. the Orange book and the Red Book) have been superseded by the Common Criteria Evaluation and Validation Scheme (CCEVS). For background and further information, see the CCEVS web site here:

The Rainbow Series is a collection of manuals on evaluating "Trusted Computer Systems" according to the National Security Agency. The term "Rainbow Series" comes from the fact that each book is a different color. The primary book (upon which all others expound) is the Orange Book.

FAS | Intelligence | NSA |||| Join FAS

Created by John Pike
Maintained by Steven Aftergood

Updated August February 6, 2006