2014 Membership


2013 Membership

The Foreign Intelligence Surveillance Court was created by section 103(a) of the Foreign Intelligence Surveillance Act of 1978 (50 U.S.C. 1803(a)). It was originally comprised of seven district judges from seven circuits named by the Chief Justice of the United States to serve a maximum of 7 years.

In 2001, the U.S.A. Patriot Act (section 208) amended the Foreign Intelligence Surveillance Act to increase the number of FIS Court judges from seven to eleven, "of whom no fewer than 3 shall reside within 20 miles of the District of Columbia." The membership of the Court in 2013 was as follows.

Appointed Expires
BATES, John D. (Presiding, until end of term on February 21, 2013) D.D.C. 2/22/2006 2/21/2013
WALTON, Reggie B. (Presiding, as of February 22, 2013) D.D.C. 5/19/2007 5/18/2014
COFFMAN, Jennifer B. E.D.Kentucky 5/19/2011 5/18/2018 (retired 01/08/13)
COLLYER, Rosemary M. D.D.C. 3/8/2013 3/7/2020
DEARIE, Raymond J. E.D. New York 7/2/2012 7/1/2019
EAGAN, Claire V. N.D. Oklahoma 2/13/2013 5/18/2019
FELDMAN, Martin L.C. E.D.Louis. 5/19/2010 5/18/2017
HOGAN, Thomas F. D.D.C. 5/18/2009 5/18/2016
McLAUGHLIN, Mary A. E.D. Pa. 5/18/2008 5/18/2015
MOSMAN, Michael W. Oregon 5/04/2013 5/03/2020
SAYLOR, F. Dennis Mass. 5/19/2011 5/18/2018
VINSON, Roger N.D.Florida 5/04/2006 5/03/2013
WRIGHT, Susan Webber E.D. Arkansas 5/18/2009 5/18/2016
ZAGEL, James B. N.D. Ill. 5/18/2008 5/18/2015


The Foreign Intelligence Surveillance Court of Review was created by the Foreign Intelligence Surveillance Act of 1978 to review applications that were denied by the FIS Court. The Court of Review is comprised of three judges, one of whom is designated as the presiding judge, named by the Chief Justice of the United States from the U.S. district or appellate courts. Judges serve a maximum of seven years and are not eligible for redesignation.

Appointed Expires
BRYSON, William C. (Presiding) Federal Circuit 5/19/2011 (became presiding judge 9/1/2013) 5/18/2018
CABRANES, José A. Second Circuit 8/9/2013 5/18/2020
ARNOLD, Morris S. Eighth Circuit 5/19/2008 (became presiding judge 5/19/12) retired 8/31/13

2012 Membership

Table of Members of Foreign Intelligence Surveillance Court, 1978-2013

Sources: D.C. District Court, Secrecy News